GenCon, Baby, GenCon: Travel Tips

I am no foodie. I do not necessarily need to spend lots of money for fancy food.

However, as part of most trips I make, I try and find some noteworthy local fare to sample, as well as some regional foods I cannot get on a regular basis.

This year, on my GenCon sojourn, I will be checking out some new things, as well as revisiting some memorable delicacies from past trips.

I am not quite sure of my exact departure time, and because I cannot check into my Indy housing except for the hours of 9am-7pm, it is not realistic for me to make the trip in one day, so, although I am sure I could have made the trip in one day, I will be stopping in the middle. I found this gem:

theatermotel

Depending on my departure time, I might stop and try some of the original…

  • Buffalo Wings at the Anchor Bar

1200px-Pork_tenderloin_sandwich.JPGAfter that, it will be onto Indy.

  • Skyline chili. Yes!
  • Waffle House
  • Maxine’s Chicken and Waffles. Sweet potato waffles? Ummm… yes.
  • Haymakers drinks. Saw an ad on TV, and want to give them a taste.
  • Pork tenderloin sandwich (right). It’s an Indianapolis thing. I have tried them, my suitemate has not as far as I know.
  • St. Elmo steakhouse cocktail sauce. I am not sure I will stop into the restuarant, but I have heard enough about this to be intrigued.
  • Krispy Kreme. There is not one in the city proper AFAIK, but there is one en route.
  • Culver’s. I hear good things.

Lastly, the highlight of my trip was going to be a trip to a bakery to pick up a Hoosier Cream pie. Sadly, the establishment we visited closed in September of 2016. I will need to find a new place. Will it be good enough to bring a whole one home? I hope so.

  • Hoosier Cream Pie.

I never claimed to be highbrow.

If you are taking a trip to a new location, do some research and find out what is a regional specialty, find out what the locals eat. Try something new.

 

 

Leave a Reply

